Postpartum Depression

Postpartum depression is REAL.

Don’t let anyone tell you different. Don’t let anyone belittle you when you try to be open about it.

So many moms don’t open up about it because they worry about what others will say. I was one of them… After I had my daughter, postpartum depression hit me hard. There were good days and bad days. Those bad days always seemed to outweigh the good ones.

I didn’t open up to anyone… I kept everything bottled inside because I was afraid of what others would think.. I was afraid to reach out for help because I felt it would be brushed off and not acknowledged..

I recently just had my son and I am doing way better than I thought I would. The last few months of carrying him all I thought about was what if it hits me again and what I would do different this time. So far it hasn’t hit me and I am so grateful for that. I’m also thankful for the support of my family members that check on me. During the day I always make sure I am busy so my mind doesn’t start to wonder. Staying busy and active is what seems to help me the most.

Moms, don’t be afraid to reach out if you need someone to lean on or an ear to listen. I know what it’s like to not have anyone to open up to.

Leave a comment